Speak Out!

Words Of a Guy who thinks big!

JAMES-A nice mail server

with one comment

Wanna use or try  a mail server?Then add JAMES amongst ur options.JAMES(Java Apache Mail Enterprise Server) is a java based mail server which supports SMTP,POP3 and NNTP services and developed by Apache Foundation(developer of Tomcat,Ant…).I encountered JAMES accidentally while searching for mail servers for my academic project.Sendmail is the first when i thought of a mail server but its not compatible with Windows and i had to search for an alternative.Then i found out JAMES which attracted me a lot.Its simple to configure and run.It needs only jdk1.4 or higher which is quite common.The feature which rock in JAMES is it comes with Apache Mailet API.It quite fits my needs and its now up and running in our system.It is supported by an active Mailing List and a wiki page.If u need to run a mailserver as easy as Tomcat then JAMES is your answer.

Written by Lakshmi Narayanan

February 12, 2007 at 11:13 am

Posted in Technology

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi I am perumal I am doing my msc it in india chennai i have a project work on that project i decided to use open source.

    I am selected the james server for mail application purpose on java. I want to work with the SSL/TLS on james server i could not complete my james server ssl installation.

    Please help me to finish my installation on james
    please contact me on my email id perumal_9884166233@yahoo.co.in or my mobile 91 98841 66233

    perumal

    July 28, 2008 at 5:18 pm


Leave a Reply

