Speak Out!

Words Of a Guy who thinks big!

Is BSNL Dataone billing system flawed?

with 4 comments

I am using BSNL Dataone for around three months now and had no problem for first two months with their bills(as it was well within the usage limit). Last month i crossed my usage limit and i was charged for it.I had a suspicion on BSNL’s billing system and installed a Data monitoring tool to monitor usage in my end. After 21 days of usage in this month the usage data shown by BSNL usage site and my usage tool differs. There is a difference of around  10MB (higher in BSNL end). 10 MB may not be a big difference but considering my small usage this month(around 360 MB currently) its somewhat disturbing.May be , the installed tool’s data may be wrong.So I have removed it now and installed another tool to check the usage.Have to wait for some days to check the data it churns out.

After Googling ,it seems that many have experienced the same problem. This guy has data and logs in his side to prove his point and had complained to BSNL on several occasions on this.But no reactions still.

P.S:-

1.I don’t hate BSNL. In fact, Dataone’s speeds are surprisingly good and its the best ISP in my place.

2. Datafox is a great addon for Firefox.It retrieves data usage records from BSNL site directly and displays it as a appealing progress bar in Firefox’s status bar.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Written by Lakshmi Narayanan

October 21, 2007 at 4:05 pm

Posted in Experiences

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have observed such flaws with BSNL, as well as with Airtel, and on both internet and landline connections, if we can prove this, we should take the matter to consumer forums.

    Gaurav Kanoongo

    October 21, 2007 at 7:51 pm

  2. Just that! Here I am stunned for BSNL made a difference of 1000 bucks in the bill last month!

    Supratim

    June 13, 2008 at 5:46 am

  3. hi friends…
    the difference what you all speak about can be something like this.
    when we use some p2p soft wares.. our information is stored in the server which is distributed to others for hover so when they try to connect to our pc. this will be like a download which is recorded by the internet provider(bsnl, airtel,ect), but it will not be stored in our pc as it is switched off.

    this will happen when you use p2p software and switch of the pc and not the modem..

    and there can be more cases like this which we don’t know.

    sivasankar

    August 12, 2008 at 7:51 am

  4. Hi guys,
    I have been receiving exorbitant bills from bsnl.I have a 1 Gb limit but last month i was billed for 4.5 Gb usage which was shocking to say the least.I do not stay at home cause i study at a college and stay in the hostel.But my parents stay alone at home and they dont use even 500MB is my guess.I came for hols recently and spent a day changing analysing the situation.I changed the router password , the connection password and the portal password and also enabled the firewall of the router and set the settings such that no one from outside the network can use Http or Ftp via my router.I kept the router on the whole day just to see what is happening.When i checked the usage details on the portal website at the end of the day i was astonished.Out of 130 MB usage that was shown i figured that 90MB was used at a time when no one was at home.This is just perplexing.Thus i seek help in realising the extent of this problem and what r the possible solutions.I know that bsnl will never hear me out patiently and do somethinng about it. Is it that bsnl billing is flawed or is it that somebody is connecting via my router? Keenly awaiting responses.Cheers.

    Bharat

    November 8, 2008 at 11:14 pm


Leave a Reply

